All posts by markus

SCHOOL OF SEVEN BELLS – ALPINISMS (Electronica/Indie/Psychodelica – US)

School of Seven Bells (often referred to as SVIIB) is a Brooklyn-based electro psychodelica band with a strong melodic sensibility which formed in 2007. The band consists of Benjamin Curtis (guitar) and twin sisters Alejandra Deheza (vocals, bass) and Claudia Deheza (vocals, keyboards).

The band is named after the School of the Seven Bells, a mythical South American pickpocket training academy. It was Alley’s idea to name the band after this school. She had heard about it and the mythology grew in her mind. It meant a million different things to her and she also liked the phrase’s musicality.

Their first single, “My Cabal”, was released in May 2007 on UK label Sonic Cathedral. Then the Face to Face on High Places EP was released in September 2007 on Table of the Elements. School of Seven Bells’ debut album, Alpinisms, was released by Ghostly International in October 2008. It is available as both a physical and digital release (iTunes).

School of Seven Bells - Half Asleep     

Their sound has been described as dreamy and ethereal and the lyrics are impregnated with the theme of sleep and dreams. The trio’s music uses elements of dream-pop, afrobeat, with a heavy base in electronica, but it easily transcends  usual genre restrictions. Alpinisms is full of tensions—Curtis’ gentle guitars wrap around jagged beats; silky vocals hide behind grumpy, alien synthesizers—but the resulting songs are effortlessly cohesive, and insidiously catchy.

The band toured with Bat For Lashes on her UK tour and have more recently supported White Lies on their second headlining tour. Have a look at SVIIB’s page on MySpace for updates and concerts…


British electro band Zoot Woman is made up of Jonny Blake, Adam Blake, Stuart Price and Jasmin O’Meara. Known for their live shows, the group has gained a worldwide following over the past few years. Price and Blake also work under the alias Paper Faces for remixes. They have reworked some Zoot Woman songs under this alias, but they have also produced remixes for artists such as Madonna, Scissor Sisters, Phoenix, Chromeo and producers such as Felix Da Housecat and Pete Tong.

With their first LP, Living in a Magazine (2001, Wall of Sound), Zoot Woman established themselves on the music scene. They released their self-titled sophomore album in 2003 and, after a pretty long break, their new album, Things Are What They Used To Be, hit the stores last August. The lead single, “We Won’t Break”, was released as a free download on RCRD LBL and has been remixed by many a producer…

Zoot Woman - We Won't Break (Fiend Remix)     

“Saturation” is, in my humble opinion, one of the best tracks on the album. It’s a long track that slowly builds up and creates a real emotional tension through the repetition of some motifs all through the song.. Check it out!

Zoot Woman - Saturation     

Find the band on MySpace or check out their official website. All their music can be downloaded on Zoot Woman


The Lowbrowsare a creative unit that was formed in 2005 by Chaki (multi instrumentalist and DJ) and Emi (classically trained musician). Their edgy  electro dance sound is always looking towards the future, and gives you a sense of innovation with every listen!

The Lowbrows - Dream in the Desert (Flight Facilities Remix)     

Their first self titled EP was released in March 2007 but is no longer available. They gained attention in February 2008, when a then unreleased track “Melody & Shudder” was remixed by Dexpistols and featured on their compilation Apple.Lesson.4. They would also gain further attention when the Bang Gang Deejays featured ‘Dream In The Desert’ on their compilation; ‘D is For Disco, E is For Dancing’. As a matter of fact, Chaki has performed DJ sets alongside the Bang Gang Deejays, but also Hot Chip, Friendly Fires or Digitalism.

With an amazing reputation for their remix work, they are receiving a rush of offers from both Japanese and international artists (Simian Mobile Disco, Chromeo, 80Kidz). In between remixes and gigs, they released an album, For Whom The Bell Tolls, and more recently a mini album, Danse Macabre.

The mini-album has eight tracks in total, including a reworking of the glorious “Dream In The Desert” (get it on Beatport or iTunes). A new fully fledged album, ripe with fresh material is expected in early 2010… In the meantime, check out their MySpace for updates!

LADYHAWKE – MAGIC (NuWave/Electro – New Zealand)


This is not the first time we talk about Ladyhawke in these pages. Phillipa ‘Pip’ Brown, the woman behind this enigmatic name, has been hailed as the new electro sensation in New Zealand and has released hit after hit for the past year or so.

Originally from a small town in the Wellington region, she comes from a musical family with her mother being a singer/guitarist and her stepfather a jazz drummer. After high school, Brown left her hometown and moved to Wellington, where she formed the band Two Lane Blacktop with some friends, playing lead guitar. When the members of Two Lane Blacktop decided to part ways, she moved to Melbourne, Australia. She then became one half of the duo Teenager with PNAU’s Nick Littlemore. She also contributed vocals on one of Pnau’s best known songs “Embrace”.

PNAU - Embrace (Tits & Clits Remix)     

In the end, Brown decided to focus on her solo project and created Ladyhawke. She says she started Ladyhawke out of a desire to do her own project where she could completely express herself in any way she wanted. She says: “I wanted to make music that could put a smile on peoples faces and give them a feeling of nostalgia even though they may be hearing my songs for the first time.”

She writes and performs all the songs on her first self-titled album, which was released in September 2008 on Modular (home to  Bag Raiders, The Presets and Chromeo amongst others). Check out the song “Magic” remixed by Classixx

Ladyhawke - Magic (Classixx Remix)     

Show Ladyhawke some love on MySpace and download the album and/or the singles on

U R MY DISCO // vol.6

U R MY DISCO // vol.6 is here!! When the streets are white with snow and the cold wind blows in your face, you need some quality dance music to warm you up. So stop hiding under your blanket, get out of bed, turn the volume up and enjoy! If it’s freezing outside, get your crew together and put on your dancing shoes cuz this mix is all you need get the party going…

Here’s a teaser for you… Not released yet, a new track by Sia called “You’ve Changed”…

Sia - You've Changed     

Stream the whole mix on 8tracks or download it here: 

Tracklist goes as follows:

01 Drownsoda – Holograms
02 Armand Van Helden – I Want Your Soul (Fake Blood Remix)
03 Anoraak – Nightdrive With You (Grum New Wave Remix)
04 Miami Horror – Make You Mine
05 Pilotpriest – Zipper (1994 Radio Edit)
06 Cazals – Somebody, Somewhere (Lifelike Remix)
07 Cut Copy – Hearts on Fire (Aeroplane Pop Remix)
08 Metric – Help I’m Alive (The Twelves Remix)
09 Metronomy – Heartbreaker (Jupiter Remix)
10 Sia – You’ve Changed
11 French Horn Rebellion – Up All Night (John Bourke Remix)
12 Lost Valentinos – Thief (Nile Delta Remix)
13 Hercules & Love Affair – Raise Me Up
14 My Tiger My Timing – I Am The Sound
15 Fever Ray – Seven (The Twelves Remix)
16 Simian Mobile Disco – Cruel Intentions
17 Jupiter – Starlighter
18 Two Door Cinema Club – Cigarettes in the Theatre