Tag Archives: new album


Whitey is an ongoing solo project by N.J Whitey, a totally self-taught artist who sings, programs, plays guitar, keys, bass and drums. This UK-born Berlin-based music genius defies genre boundaries with songs that swing wildly between styles.  Although still unsigned, he has released plenty of records under a variety of names and managed to break through to mainstream daytime radio in the U.S and elsewhere.

In 2004, he released The Light at the End of the Tunnel is a Train, which was greeted at the time as a critical triumph. His next album, Great Shakes, was leaked onto the internet and, as a consequence, never got an official release. Some time later the track “Stay on the Outside” was featured on Kitsuné Maison Compilation 4 and earned Whitey further praise but his third album, which was planned for 2008, was delayed and then never released.

Whitey - Stay On The Outside     

Now the wait has been long but there’s finally some good news! Whitey’s brand new album, Canned Laughter, is out since April 1st 2010 and it’s brilliant. Released with no record label support, no press agent, no advertising budget, it will have to rely on word-of-mouth, bloggers, radio stations and other media to spread to the masses..

Whitey - Count Those Freaks     

If you appreciate good music and like this track, show your support and buy it on Whitey

Pay Whitey a visit on MySpace and vote for his tracks on Hype Machine!


After the monumental success of their debut album Antidotes, Foals shied away from the public eye and spent two years working in silence. They are now back to announce the release of their sophomore album, Total Life Forever. Produced by Luke Smith in Gothenburg this highly anticipated new album is scheduled for release on May 10, 2010.

Foals - Spanish Sahara     

On “Spanish Sahara”, the first track to surface from Total Life Forever, the Oxford-based quintet seems to have traded in their trademark hyperactive electroclash guitars for a more subdued post-rock, experimental sound.

Yannis Philippakis (vocals and guitar), Jack Bevan (drums), Jimmy Smith (guitar), Edwin Congreave (keyboards) and Walter Gervers (bass) seem to have become a hell of a lot more serious  (grave?) and this also shows in the dark and disturbingly beautiful video that illustrates the song and that you can watch HERE.

Be it said that “Spanish Sahara” got the remix treatment by the hand of Mount Kimbie. The remixed version of the track, reminiscent of trip-hop and ambient electronica, is now available for free download on Foals’ official website.

Foals - Spanish Sahara (Mount Kimbie Remix)     

You can also visit the band on MySpace and check out the dates of their forthcoming European tour, which kicks off on Arpil 12th in Berlin and will take them to Amsterdam, Paris, London, Dublin, etc…

Buy Foals’ music on Foals

HOT CHIP – ONE LIFE STAND (Dance/Electro – UK)

Here is British electropop band Hot Chip’s new single off their forthcoming album. “One Life Stand” is an electronic pop track with hints of disco that starts off a little somber, but will get you dancing around your room before long… It’s fresh, fun and real Hot Chip sound…

Hot Chip - One Life Stand     

Hot Chip’s new album, which will bear the same name as the lead single, should be dropping in February 2010. It will be the band’s fourth studio album, after Coming on Strong (2004), The Warning (2006), and Made in the Dark (2008).

For more info, visit the band on their official site or MySpace. Buy “One Life Stand” on Hot Chip


Husky Rescue

Three years after their glorious sophomore LP, Ghost Is Not Real (Catskills, 2007), Husky Rescue are finally releasing new material. Their incredibly mesmerizing new single, “We Shall Burn Bright”, is now available and it clearly shows that the Finnish band is still at the top of their game. On the heels of this single, a new album will be released in January on Catskills Records.

Husky Rescue - We shall burn bright     

Husky Rescue are a five piece band originally from Helsinki, but the success of their first two LPs (Coutry Falls and Ghost Is Not Real) has brought them a solid fan base well beyond the borders of their native Finland. Their sound can be described as a blend of fragile rock, cinematic moods and up-tempo rock you can tap your feet to.

If you wanna learn more about Husky Rescue, check out their official site or MySpace. You can purchase all their music on

ANNIE – I DON’T LIKE YOUR BAND (ElectroPop – Norway)

The second studio album by Norwegian electropop singer Annie, Don’t Stop, was released on 19 October 2009 in the UK and on 17 November 2009 worldwide. The record includes collaborations with Richard X, Timo Kaukolampi, Paul Epworth, Brian Higgins, and Franz Ferdinand’s Alex Kapranos.

Bad news Annie’s  last single “Anthonio” is not be included on the LP but some new tracks such as “I Don’t Like Your Band” made the cut and are a welcome surprise! It’s a ridiculously enjoyable track with uplifting synths and an irrestible pop edge… Enjoy!

Annie - I Don't Like Your Band     

For more info and updates, head over to Annie’s official MySpace. Get all of Annie’s releases on