All posts by markus

REDLIGHT – REMIXES (Club/Electro/House – US)

Redlight is a DJ / producer who spent the last two years rocking clubs in NYC and crafting high energy remixes for artists such as Boris Dlugosch, Kings of Convenience or Ladyhawke. Having now relocated to LA, he is spending less time DJing and concentrating on production work. He has released a few original tracks and some pretty amazing mashups.

Cut Copy - Ghosts on Fire (RedLight Mashup)     

All of Redlight’s remixes seek to improve on the original and to make them ever more dancefloor friendly. With this in mind, he brings his personal touch to the tracks he remixes and often comes up with remixes that are completely different from the originals. His take on Vampire Weekend’s “Ottoman” is eloquent enough in this respect…

Vampire Weekend - Ottoman (Redlight Remix)     

Always in touch with the latest trends, Redlight just dropped an excellent remix of up-and-coming Irish band Two Door Cinema Club. On the heels of their recently released debut album and a sold out European tour, this trio has been getting a lot of media attention. With this great remix of their song “What You Know”, they’re now sure to take the dancefloors by storm…

Two Door Cinema Club - What You Know (Redlight Remix)     

For more info, check out Redlight’s blog or head over to MySpace.


Lazersonic & Zak Frost are two London-based producers with a strong electronic heritage. Zak Frost, synonymous with the infamous Nodisko parties, has been a key figure on the European DJ circuit for the last decade. Lazersonic is rapidly establishing himself as one of the hottest new producers on the block. Their first collaboration “Aquaplane” is a very smooth and extremely atmospherical tune, released by Turbo Recordings in 2009. Throwing in elements of dub, spaced-out disco and psychedelia, this track is a must-buy, especially the  Williams Remix, that you can get in digital format on Beatport.

Lazersonic & Zak Frost - Aquaplane     

For their second release, “Levels” which has already gained support from the likes of David Guetta on his international “F**k Me I’m Famous” radio show. The track has a massive bassline and features unique vocals from Ali Love. “Levels” is a sonic assault on the senses, backed with two remixes from Shadow Dancer (Boys Noize Records) and a storming remix from newcomer Kill The Hero.  Expect it to be dominating the all the right clubs in all the right places. Buy “Levels” on Beatport or Lazersonic and Zak Frost

Lazersonic & Zak Frost - Levels (Kill The Hero Remix)     

Anticipating their debut album, Adventures In Stereo, coming in 2010,  Lazersonic & Zak Frost are lining up plenty of new productions, remixes and gigs so you’ll be hearing a lot more of their material in the next few months. Find out more and listen to their music on MySpace.


For some unfathomable reason, we have never posted Midlake‘s music before on this blog. Clearly there is absolutely no valid excuse for that, except that there is so much wonderful music in the world that it is physically impossible to listen to it all. So Midlake is one of those bands that we just missed…

Midlake was formed in 1999 by a group of jazz students at the University of North Texas. Even though they started off as an experimental  funk/jazz band (under the name The Cornbread All-Stars), their sound now leans more toward indie rock, with influences from the likes of Radiohead, Iron & Wine or Grandaddy.

After their critically acclaimed 2004 debut, Bamnan and Slivercork, Midlake released the hauntingly archaic The Trials of Van Occupanther in 2006. This second album saw the band reach new heights and brought widespread success on the strength of songs such as “Roscoe”, here remixed by Beyond The Wizard’s Sleeve…

Midlake - Roscoe (Beyond The Wizard's Sleeve Remix)     

Coming after the highly successful The Trials Of Van Occupanther, the more personal The Courage Of Others is dark, sometimes disturbing, but always stunning. Get a taste of the new material just below.

Midlake - Acts Of Man     

Visit their official site or MySpace and buy the music on

MOUNT KIMBIE – MAYBES (Dubstep/Electronica – UK)

Mount Kimbie is a London duo that makes mostly mid-tempo dubstep tracks with deftly syncopated, slightly off-center, ambiguously danceable beats. If their rhythms are essentially dubstep, they are also inspired by electronica and hip hop and ooze with emotion and echoing ambient soundscapes.

The two musicians behind Mount Kimbie, Dominic Maker and Kai Campos, met at university and they’ve released two four-track EPs so far: Maybes and Sketch on Glass. The two EPs are surprisingly different from each other but both equally well produced, with good programming and evocative melodies.

Mount Kimbie - Sketch On Glass     
Foals - Spanish Sahara (Mount Kimbie Remix)     

It’s strong music with character and we can hope for some more great Mount Kimbie tracks in the future. Indeed, the pair are currently hard at work on new material and may release their debut album in 2010. In the meantime, you can visit their MySpace for more info and if you want to buy their music head over to Mount Kimbie


Ou Est Le Swimming Pool are a shiny new electro / nu wave outfit hailing from North London.

Their superb debut “Dance The Way I Feel”, released in November 2009, is a dark electro track with Pet Shop Boys influenced vocals and a catchy as hell bassline that will quite literally drag you onto the dance floor whether you like it or not. You wanna try? Listen to it below…

Ou Est Le Swimming Pool - Dance The Way I Feel     

After sharing stages with the likes of Sam Sparro, Cypress Hill and La Roux, Ou Est Le Swimming Pool are about to release their highly anticipated new single “These New Knights”. This track, which will soon be available for download, comes with a brilliant remix that you can check out just below.

Ou Est Le Swimming Pool - These New Knights (Jocks Remix)     

Ou Est Le Swimming Pool started life as a 3 piece when founding member Charles Haddon moved to Camden in 2008 where he met locals Joe Hutchinson and Caan Capan. Within a month of the trio’s paths first crossing, the band was born. Just as they started to make music together, they met production wizard Anders Kallmark who was instantly spellbound and asked if he could come aboard. They have been compared to a British version of Passion Pit, not too bad a band to be compared to…

Get more info on MySpace and buy the band’s music on Ou