James Blake

After three years of relative silence since the release of his album Overgrown, English singer songwriter James Blake finally announced a surprise new full length a few weeks ago. The Colour In Anything was released at midnight on May 6th following a few festival announcements and pictures of mysterious Quentin Blake murals.

The 17-track LP features collaborations with Bon Iver and Frank Ocean (who co-wrote some of the tracks) and is co-produced by Rick Rubin. Blake uses emotion and abstract images in the video for “I Need a Forest Fire” featuring beautiful vocals from Bon Iver.

Directed by UVA, the clip shows various art installations that play with light, shadow and shapes, while birds and butterflies are a common theme throughout. As the song reaches its subtle apex, a digitally rendered butterfly takes flight for the stunning final shot of a whole kaleidoscope flitting about a lone bulb like the sun.

Buy the album on


Local Natives

Hailing from Silver Lake, CA, Local Natives have just released their new single “Past Lives” via Loma Vista (also home to Andrew Bird, Iggy Pop, Health). This song is the band’s first new track since their highly praised 2013 sophomore album Hummingbird, which saw them collaborate with The National’s Aaron Dessner.

While it is still unclear whether a new album is on the way, the band have reportedly been playing some new material at a few recent gigs and are also scheduled to appear at a handful of festivals this summer.

More on the band’s official site or Facebook. Buy on


Viola Martinsson

“Made Of” was first recorded in 2012 by Swedish electro/house band Nause and became a major hit in Sweden. However the version featured here is a complete rework by the hand of fellow Swedish artist Viola Martinsson and it is a far cry from the danceable euro beat of the original song.

Viola Martinsson - Made Of     

This dreamy, ethereal cover of “Made Of” was recorded specifically to be used as the music theme for the Volvo campaign “Made by People”. There is no official video for the song but you can watch the long version of the ad below.

Buy the single on


Sea Bed

Formed in 2015, Sea Bed released their debut EP Moving Ghosts last March and are now set to perform at The Great Escape for the first time next weekend. With influences ranging from sultry 90s R&B and glittery 70s disco to classic 4/4 house music, the Brighton-based duo transform these sounds into something refreshingly modern.

In their own words, the title track of the EP is about “the realisation that living is a constant progression, and that resisting to the natural movement of life causes pain, and makes us fearful and stagnant. At times it’s better to let go and move on, rather than cling onto something that holds you back.”

This dreamy and nostalgic tune is equal parts Massive Attack, New Order and Hot Chip, with hints of Detroit techno stalwarts Jeff Mills, Carl Craig and Derrick May.

For more info and music check out Sea Bed’s Tumblr, Facebook or SoundCloud. Buy the music on

ARY – HIGHER (SynthPop – Norway)


Named “Artist to watch” in 2016 by a group of Norwegian music journalists, selected to represent NRK P3 Radio at Eurosonic following two A-listed singles, Oslo-based artist Ary seems to have found her very own space among the vast landscapes of sounds and music. As well as writing and performing her own music, she is also a skilled producer. On new track “Higher”, her alluring voice thrives in a backdrop of booming beats and gripping synths.

The song is taken off Eskimo Recordings Presents: The Orange Collection, which is the latest installment in the Belgian electro label’s compilation series based around colours. Following the lauded first three chapters – Pink, Blue and Green – Eskimo once again selected 12 songs that create an effortless journey encompassing a range of sounds through indie dance, nu disco and electronica.

More info on Facebook and SoundCloud. Buy on