All posts by markus

U R MY DISCO // vol.6

U R MY DISCO // vol.6 is here!! When the streets are white with snow and the cold wind blows in your face, you need some quality dance music to warm you up. So stop hiding under your blanket, get out of bed, turn the volume up and enjoy! If it’s freezing outside, get your crew together and put on your dancing shoes cuz this mix is all you need get the party going…

Here’s a teaser for you… Not released yet, a new track by Sia called “You’ve Changed”…

Sia - You've Changed     

Stream the whole mix on 8tracks or download it here: 

Tracklist goes as follows:

01 Drownsoda – Holograms
02 Armand Van Helden – I Want Your Soul (Fake Blood Remix)
03 Anoraak – Nightdrive With You (Grum New Wave Remix)
04 Miami Horror – Make You Mine
05 Pilotpriest – Zipper (1994 Radio Edit)
06 Cazals – Somebody, Somewhere (Lifelike Remix)
07 Cut Copy – Hearts on Fire (Aeroplane Pop Remix)
08 Metric – Help I’m Alive (The Twelves Remix)
09 Metronomy – Heartbreaker (Jupiter Remix)
10 Sia – You’ve Changed
11 French Horn Rebellion – Up All Night (John Bourke Remix)
12 Lost Valentinos – Thief (Nile Delta Remix)
13 Hercules & Love Affair – Raise Me Up
14 My Tiger My Timing – I Am The Sound
15 Fever Ray – Seven (The Twelves Remix)
16 Simian Mobile Disco – Cruel Intentions
17 Jupiter – Starlighter
18 Two Door Cinema Club – Cigarettes in the Theatre

JULIEN DYNE – PINS AND DIGITS (Lounge/Funk/Electronica – New Zealand)

Julien dyne is a percussionist, producer and beatmaster living in Auckland, New Zealand. Released last month on BBE, Pins and Digits, is his long awaited and highly anticipated debut album. Hot on the heels of Dyne’s critically acclaimed first release, the Phantom Limbo EP, this brilliant debut is a contemporary mix of wonky electronic beats, instrumental hip-hop, and the occasional dash of soul.

Julien Dyne - Layer (feat. Mara TK)     

In New Zealand, Julien Dyne is best known for his work as the drummer for Opensouls and Tyra and The Tornadoes, but he has in fact collaborated with many more artists along the years (Verse Two, Nathan Haines, Fat Freddy’s Drop, Ladi6). Not only is he a true musician who can play organic and authentic funk, jazz and soul, but he is also a gifted producer who can rock a computer and a few analog synths to get the best of them.

On Pins & Digits he finds the perfect balance between these two facets, taking all of it forward. The album features guests spots from some of New Zealand’s most talented musicians including Jonathan Crayford, Paul Dyne, Lewis McCallum, Jeremy Toy (Opensouls) and  vocals by Mara TK and Parks. So get ready for take off and enjoy the ride!

Find Julien Dyne’s music on Julien or get more info on MySpace.


Hailing from Bangor in Northern Ireland, Two Door Cinema Club‘s energetic indie pop has enough slick guitar progressions, infectious basslines and hum-along choruses for them to come across as a logical contender for the “Best New Act of 2009” title. They are part of this recent trend in indie-rock, which incorporates a wider embracement of electronica and dance, with the mastery of more established bands like Phoenix and the same energy as early Bloc Party.

The band – Alex Trimble (drums and vocals), Kevin Baird (bass) and Sam Halliday (guitar) – have been together since early 2007, giving up on university places after things starting bubbling over on MySpace.

Two Door Cinema Club - Cigarettes in the Theatre     

The energy that one feels when listening to tracks such as “Cigarettes in the Theatre” no doubt helped get them signed to indie label Kitsune. Now, one can expect the fantastic songwriting of Two Door Cinema Club to carry them to great heights.

All we have to wait on is their full-length debut, which the trio promises is in the making and could be released in early 2010. In the meantime, you purchase their first single “I Can Talk” on Two Door Cinema Club

FRIENDLY FIRES – ON BOARD (DancePunk/Electro – UK)

Born out of the ashes of First Day Back, the hardcore band they formed while still at school, Friendly Fires are Ed MacFarlane (vox), Edd Gibson (guitar) and Jack Savidge (drums). They are currently signed to  XL Recordings (also home to Peaches, Dizzee Rascal or Sigur Rós, to name a few).

They make razor-sharp post-punk that makes all the dismal, skinny jeaned ‘80s revivalists you’ve been hearing these past few years look like amateurs. Assured, honest and ultimately sweet, Friendly Fires is a glib reminder that you don’t need much to have an all night disco party and that there’s no shame in getting your groove on!

Friendly Fires - On Board (Joakim Remix)     

The trio now seems to be on the fast track to mainstream success – they’ve already released a handful of hit singles and toured around as far as America and Japan. Their self-titled debut album has just been re-released with a bonus disc including their new single “Kiss Of Life”, remixes by the likes of Aeroplane or Paul Epworth, and videos…

Show Friendly Fires some MySpace love and get their music on Friendly Fires


English producer duo Simian Mobile Disco are blessing our ears with yet another dancefloor-ready electro jewel: “Cruel Intentions”.

This new track, which features The Gossip’s Beth Ditto on vocals, is an instant hit with minimal arrangements, dirty bass and a catchy hook. Beth Ditto reveals her inner disco diva in a track that could be described as a mash up of retro electronic, 80s synth pop and strip joint music…

Simian Mobile Disco - Cruel Intentions     

Simian Mobile Disco was originally formed as a traveling DJ duet for James Ford and Jas Shaw, who were playing on the side of their early four-piece band Simian. They ultimately released a number of low profile singles, such as “The Count” on Kitsuné, but arguably gained more fame for their remixes of artists such as The Kills, Klaxons, Peaches, The Presets and others.

The band’s sophomore studio album Temporary Pleasure, released in August 2009, features many guests that they met through their work as producers or while touring: Gruff Rhys of Super Furry Animals, Alexis Taylor of Hot Chip, Beth Ditto and Chris Keating of Yeasayer.

Find Simian Mobile Disco on MySpace. Buy their music on Simian Mobile Disco