All posts by markus

FRIENDLY FIRES – ON BOARD (DancePunk/Electro – UK)

Born out of the ashes of First Day Back, the hardcore band they formed while still at school, Friendly Fires are Ed MacFarlane (vox), Edd Gibson (guitar) and Jack Savidge (drums). They are currently signed to  XL Recordings (also home to Peaches, Dizzee Rascal or Sigur Rós, to name a few).

They make razor-sharp post-punk that makes all the dismal, skinny jeaned ‘80s revivalists you’ve been hearing these past few years look like amateurs. Assured, honest and ultimately sweet, Friendly Fires is a glib reminder that you don’t need much to have an all night disco party and that there’s no shame in getting your groove on!

Friendly Fires - On Board (Joakim Remix)     

The trio now seems to be on the fast track to mainstream success – they’ve already released a handful of hit singles and toured around as far as America and Japan. Their self-titled debut album has just been re-released with a bonus disc including their new single “Kiss Of Life”, remixes by the likes of Aeroplane or Paul Epworth, and videos…

Show Friendly Fires some MySpace love and get their music on Friendly Fires


English producer duo Simian Mobile Disco are blessing our ears with yet another dancefloor-ready electro jewel: “Cruel Intentions”.

This new track, which features The Gossip’s Beth Ditto on vocals, is an instant hit with minimal arrangements, dirty bass and a catchy hook. Beth Ditto reveals her inner disco diva in a track that could be described as a mash up of retro electronic, 80s synth pop and strip joint music…

Simian Mobile Disco - Cruel Intentions     

Simian Mobile Disco was originally formed as a traveling DJ duet for James Ford and Jas Shaw, who were playing on the side of their early four-piece band Simian. They ultimately released a number of low profile singles, such as “The Count” on Kitsuné, but arguably gained more fame for their remixes of artists such as The Kills, Klaxons, Peaches, The Presets and others.

The band’s sophomore studio album Temporary Pleasure, released in August 2009, features many guests that they met through their work as producers or while touring: Gruff Rhys of Super Furry Animals, Alexis Taylor of Hot Chip, Beth Ditto and Chris Keating of Yeasayer.

Find Simian Mobile Disco on MySpace. Buy their music on Simian Mobile Disco

HOT CHIP – ONE LIFE STAND (Dance/Electro – UK)

Here is British electropop band Hot Chip’s new single off their forthcoming album. “One Life Stand” is an electronic pop track with hints of disco that starts off a little somber, but will get you dancing around your room before long… It’s fresh, fun and real Hot Chip sound…

Hot Chip - One Life Stand     

Hot Chip’s new album, which will bear the same name as the lead single, should be dropping in February 2010. It will be the band’s fourth studio album, after Coming on Strong (2004), The Warning (2006), and Made in the Dark (2008).

For more info, visit the band on their official site or MySpace. Buy “One Life Stand” on Hot Chip


Local Natives

Local Natives are a bunch of five musicians from Southern California and they have just released their debut LP Gorilla Manor (French Kiss / Infectious Music 2009), which you can get on iTunes. Upon first listen though, it seems as if there’s no way this can really be their first record. Taylor Rice (vocals/guitar), Kelcey Ayer (vocals/keys/percussion), Ryan Hahn (vocals/guitar), Andy Hamm (Bass) and Matt Frazier (Drums) really sound like they know what they’re doing! Their songs roll by with the ease, confidence and chemistry of a much more seasoned act.

Some have compared them to bands like Broken Social Scene but with rich orchestration à la Grizzly Bear or FleetFoxes. I say, let’s forget comparaisons and listen to their sound…

Local Natives - Sun Hands     

The Local Natives are touring the US at the moment and will soon embark on a huge European tour that will take them to Spain, France, Denmark, Germany, the UK, etc… More info on MySpace!