Tag Archives: Australia

LOST VALENTINOS – CITIES OF GOLD (Psychedelic/Indie – Australia)

Lost Valentinos are a band from Sydney. They released two EPs under the name The Valentinos but decided to change their name in mid 2007 to Lost Valentinos to avoid potential legal issues with soul artists from the 1950s, Bobby Womack & The Valentinos.

They released their debut album Cities Of Gold in September 2009. It was recorded during 2008 and 2009 in Sydney, London and Berlin and produced by Ewan Pearson, who has worked with bands including Chemical Brothers, The Rapture, Tracey Thorn and Delphic.

Lost Valentinos - Thief (Nile Delta Remix)     

For more info and music, check out Lost Valentinos’ official site. Buy the album on Cities

MILKE – LOVE GET OUT OF MY WAY (Electro/Indie – Australia)

Milke is an expat Aussie electro-indie band now based in the UK. It was founded in London by Ra Khahn and Andrew “Friendly” Kornweibel, two Aussie guys with very different musical backgrounds.

Andrew Friendly comes from the clubs and is quite famous on the Australian DJ circuit. Ra Khahn was raised on a hippy commune in Canberra and is more the classic singer/songwriter type.

Their collaboration started when Andrew was looking for a vocalist to add lyrics to his songs. He heard some of Ra’s music and decided to send him an email straight away. After that they exchanged emails and decided to make music together.

Milke - Love Get Out Of My Way     

Inspired by a variety of acts, such as Eurythmics, The Cure, Prince, Stevie Wonder, Daft Punk or Stuart Price, Friendly and Khahn make electro music with a radio-friendly twist. Nice hooks, uplifting synths and great vocals are the recipe for Milke’s unique sound.


Miami Horror

This is not the first time we talk about Miami Horror on umstrum||music. Remember, back in May, when we posted the amazing track “This Heart Attack” by Faker vs Miami Horror… Well it’s time to give Miami Horror the attention it deserves!

Miami Horror - Make You Mine     

EMPIRE OF THE SUN – WE ARE THE PEOPLE (Indie/Electro/Pop – Australia)

Empire of the Sun

Empire of the Sun is an Australian electronic music duo which formed in 2007. The duo is currently composed of Luke Steele of The Sleepy Jackson and Nick Littlemore, famous for his work with indie dance act Pnau.

The pair released their debut album, Walking On A Dream, in October 2008 via EMI Music Australia. The first single from the album was also called “Walking On A Dream” and it was followed by their instant cult second single “We Are the People”.

Empire of the Sun - We Are The People (Says Simon Remix)     

Empire of the Sun - We Are The People (Kotchy Remix)     

Find Empire of the Sun on MySpace or check out their official site for more info. All of the music is available for download on