Tag Archives: Modular

MOVEMENT – LACE (Downtempo – Australia)


Sydney’s minimal electro outfit Movement has just shared a demo of one of the songs they worked on for their first record. Listen below!

Movement - Lace     

Movement was formed in 2011, consisting of Sean Walker (percussion and production), Jesse James Ward (bass and vocals) and Lewis Wade (vocals and keys). Their music has been called “minimal soul,” as well as “psychedelic” and “body music.” The songs have elements of R&B, ambient, soul and pop music. Movement’s debut self-titled four-track EP was released in May 2014, featuring additional production and mixing from Illangelo (The Weeknd) and their first full length is expected in early 2016.

Check out their official site and Facebook. Buy on

TAME IMPALA – LET IT HAPPEN (Indie – Australia)

Tame Impala

Aussie indie outfit Tame Impala have just shared a new song, “Let It Happen”, their first new material in three years. Clocking in at nearly eight minutes, it’s an epic electronic-tinted track featuring the band’s signature psychedelic guitars and layered synths and it’s available for download now for free HERE!

Tame Impala - Let It Happen     

Later this year, Tame Impala are expected to release their highly-anticipated new album, the follow-up to 2012’s Lonerism. They have yet to announce an official release date but they have hinted that the band’s third full-length would sound “less rock again and more electronic, even more than the last one. It’s gonna be awesome”.

The boys will also be embarking on a huge North American tour, followed by dates in the UK, Ireland, Portugal and Germany, so be sure to check out their official website or Facebook for more info and tour dates. You can also buy their music on

CUT COPY – FREE YOUR MIND (SynthPop – Australia)

Fresh off their sold-out Australian tour, Cut Copy are packing their bags and setting off on a cross-country US, followed by a few gigs across the UK and Europe in April and May. They also recently revealed their latest single, the celestial “We Are Explorers”, and a slew of remixes, including one by Greek sample wunderkind and DFA affiliate Larry Gus, now available as a free download!

Cut Copy - We Are Explorers (Larry Gus Remix)     

This track is taken off Cut Copy’s new album, Free Your Mind, which follows from the Grammy-nominated and ARIA Award-winning Zonoscope. Produced by Cut Copy frontman Dan Whitford and mixed by sonic wizard Dave Fridmann (Tame Impala, MGMT, Flaming Lips), the record creates a vivid fantasy world of psychedelic fun.

More info on Cut Copy’s official site or Facebook. Buy Free Your Mind on


Following up their 2013 hit album Pacifica, Aussie dance heavyweights The Presets return with their brand new single “Goodbye Future”, a euphoric electro thumper, with a distinctively spiky late 90s tech house sound. Written and produced by the duo, the track is the first of a series of singles to be released across the coming year.

The Presets enlisted talented duo Worldlife to produce the first official remix of “Goodbye Future” and the result is a gripping house anthem that takes you straight back to the smokey sweat-soaked dancefloors of bygone decades.

The remix is part of an upcoming package set for release next month, also including reworkings by The Aston Shuffle, Ilan Bluestone and an extended club edit by The Presets themselves.

Check out their website and Facebook. Buy the music on

VIDEO : CANYONS – TONIGHT (Indie/Rock – Australia)

“Tonight” is taken from Canyons‘ debut album Keep Your Dreams, released in 2011 on Modular. Featuring soothing guitars and spaced out drums, it sounds like an ode of sorts to 70s psychedelic rock. The song has just been given a kaleidoscopic visual treatment from video art dreamteam Chromosphere (Sabrina Ratté & Yoshi Sodeoka).

If you’re itching for a live fixin’ of the Canyons lads, you can catch them in Adelaide (Oct 12), Sydney (Oct 13, 19 and 27), Newcastle (Nov 3) and at the Inca Roads Festival in Victoria (Dec 1).

More info on their official site or Facebook. Buy the music on