Tag Archives: royksopp



Svein Berge and Torbjørn Brundtland, aka Norway’s biggest electronic duo Röyksopp, released their fifth and final album The Inevitable End last month (November 10th), their second record in the space of six months, following collaborative mini album Do It Again released with fellow Scandinavian legend Robyn. The album features guest vocals from Jamie McDermott of the Irrepressibles, Ryan James (Man Without Country), Norwegian singer songwriter Susanne Sundfor and the aforementioned Robyn. The album features guest vocals from Jamie McDermott of the Irrepressibles, Ryan James (Man Without Country), Norwegian singer songwriter Susanne Sundfor and the aforementioned Robyn.

As a bonus, here is Maceo Plex’s amazing remix of “Sordid Affair” featuring Ryan James. It takes the best parts of the original and combines them in this infectious piece of synth-laden deep house. Enjoy!

The Inevitable End is possibly Röyksopp’s most personal album to date and their first full-length since 2010’s Senior. It will also be their final album, as the pair have announced they want to “say goodbye to the traditional album format” and release music in other formats.

More info and music on Röyksopp’s official site or Facebook. Buy the new album on

RÖYKSOPP + ROBYN – DO IT AGAIN EP (ElectroPop/House – Norway/Sweden)

Royskopp and Robyn

After teaming up in 2009 on “The Girl and the Robot” and in 2010 on “None of Dem”, Swedish pop princess Robyn and Norwegian producer duo Röyksopp have joined forces again for a full-on collaborative 5-track EP called Do It Again. Clocking in at 35 minutes, this “mini-album” combines Röyksopp’s lush, sophisticated electronic soundscapes with Robyn’s offbeat, razor-sharp pop hooks. Check out a snippet of opening track “Monument”, a subdued 9-minute journey into melancholia and also one of the EP’s highlights.

Title track “Do It Again” goes in a completely different direction, bringing in big beats and arena-worthy synths. It has been circulating on radios and dance floors for a few months now and a handful of remixes have also surfaced courtesy of Moby, In Flagranti, Isaac Christopher, Zoo Station, Moullinex and more.

Working together as a band more than as separate artists, Torbjørn Brundtland, Svein Berge and Robyn were all three equally involved “in every aspect of music-making”, turning Do It Again into an ambitious detour in their respective careers.

Sample more music on Röyksopp’s SoundCloud and connect with Robyn on Facebook. Grab your own copy of Do It Again on

JOAKIM – HEARTBREAK SAMBA (Electro/Disco – France)

French artist/producer Joakim (born Joakim Bouazziz) is multi talented musician, composer and remixer. He has released three audacious albums since the beginning of the 2000s (Fantomes, Monsters & Silly Songs and Milky Ways) and a handful of singles.

His audacious releases have been widely praised by critics for their  originality. By blending elements of disco, post-punk, new wave and electropop Joakim manages to achieve a very peculiar mix that is instantly identifiable for any electro enthusiast.

A couple of weeks ago Joakim released a brand new track, “Heartbreak Samba”, and he has rather generously decided to give it away for free on his Soundcloud. As usual with Joakim, this new song defies all genre definitions. It sounds like some strange hybrid of electro, house, disco, afro-pop and samba. One thing is for sure, it’s danceable!

Joakim - Heartbreak Samba     

To celebrate this release, let’s look at the other side of the man’s career: Joakim the remixer! Indeed, even if you have never heard any of his own tracks, you most surely have danced to one of Joakim’s classy remixes. To say that he is in demand would be a serious understatement as he has, so far, collaborated with Cut Copy, Simian Mobile Disco, Röyksopp, Metronomy, Robyn, Kleerup, DJ Mehdi, Grand Popo Football Club, Revolver, Friendly Fires, Alter Ego, Poni Hoax and the list goes on…

Find out more about Joakim on MySpace and buy his new album on Milky

saturday nite with… RÖYKSOPP

No need to introduce Norwegian electro duo Röyksopp. Unless you have been hiding in a hole for the past twenty years, you will no doubt have heard at least a few of Röyksopp’s biggest hits: “Poor Leno”, “Remind Me”, “What Else Is There?”, “Only This Moment”, “Happy Up Here” and the list goes on…

Childhood friends Torbjørn Brundtland and Svein Berge, both songwriters and producers, started experimenting with electronic instruments in the early 90s and recorded some material with the band Aedena Cycle. After quiting the band, they formed Röyksopp and released their critically acclaimed debut  Melody A.M. in 2001. Ten years and 4 albums later, the pair is still on top!

It’s hard to sum up ten years of career in one post, especially when dealing with a band that has released consistently way-above-average material. Below you will find a selection of some of Röyksopp’s best tracks, remixed by some top notch producers. Now you can dance!

Röyksopp - Remind Me (Someone Else's Radio Remix)     

Röyksopp - What Else Is There (Jacques Lu Cont Remix)     

Röyksopp - Tricky Tricky (Days Off Remix)     

Röyksopp - This Must Be It (Rex The Dog Remix)     

Note that the boys are currently on tour, so maybe you can catch them at a club near you. More info on their official site or MySpace. Buy all their music on Röyksopp

ROBYN – BODY TALK (Electro/RobotPop – Sweden)

Swedish pop singer songwriter Robyn is no stranger to stardom. While some may remember her 90s pop hits, many will have discovered her music a few years ago when her fourth album, the self-produced, self-titled and critically acclaimed Robyn, gained mainstream success worldwide. Owing to the popularity of hit singles such as “With Every Heartbeat” or “Cobrastyle”, she literally took the electropop world by storm, creating a strong precedent for La Roux, Little Boots or Ellie Goulding.

Robyn - Cobrastyle (RAC Mix)     

The Swedish singer, who once initiated the new wave of synth-driven robot-pop, is now gearing up for the release of her new three piece album project, “Body Talk”. The first installment, Body Talk Pt.1, is scheduled to be released in early June and it will feature collaborations with Diplo, Röyksopp, Kleerup and Klas Åhlund. Here’s a teaser for you: ‘Fembot’, in which Robyn claims that “Fembots have feelings too”.

Robyn - Fembot     

As a bonus, here’s a collaboration between Robyn and El Perro Del Mar, a Swedish musical project created by Sarah Assbring. Not only did Robyn revamp the whole track, but she also contributed vocals on this new version. Check it out…

El Perro Del Mar - Change of Heart (Robyn's Rakamonie Remix)     

Go to Robyn’s official site or MySpace for more info. You can of course purchase her music on Robyn