North American synth-pop duo Sylvan Esso (Amelia Meath and Nick Sanborn) released their fourth official studio album, No Rules Sandy, in 2022 via Loma Vista / Concord. Produced and written by Meath and Sanborn themselves, with additional recording taking place at their own Betty’s studio in Chapel Hill, the album also features contributions from drummer TJ Maiani, string arrangements by Gabriel Kahane and saxophone from Sam Gendel.

Early last year, the artistic tandem relocated to Los Angeles where they set up a new studio packed with analog and digital gear. In the middle of last summer and without prior notice, they shared the sixteen songs from No Rules Sandy, an album that throws the rule book of pop music out the window and represents their most creatively adventurous and boldest effort to date.

Sylvan Esso debuted with their self-titled album in 2014 as a collaboration between Amelia Meath, singer-songwriter and member of the indie-folk trio Mountain Man, and Nick Sanborn, producer and bassist for Megafaun. Out of their native North Carolina, the duo managed to enter the Billboard charts and garnered worldwide recognition on the independent scene. In 2017, they released ‘What Now’ (their first work for Loma Vista, their current label) which was nominated for a Grammy.

For more info, check out Sylvan Esso’s official site and Facebook. Listen on SoundCloud and buy on Bandcamp.

Listen on Apple Music

Discover more from umstrum||music

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Discover more from umstrum||music

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading