Tag Archives: alternative


Brighton-based band Fujiya & Miyagi was formed in 2000. Strange name for an English band? As explained by David Best (lead vocalist but also guitarist and keyboardist), the name comes from the movie ‘The Karate Kid’ and a brand of record players: “Miyagi was taken from the film ‘The Karate Kid’ and Fujiya was the name of a record player. It just looked really nice written down. And it was the only name we came up with”.

Fujiya & Miyagi are self-described as being heavily influenced by 70’s krautrock bands such as Can and Neu! as well as early-90’s electronic music artists like Aphex Twin or  Tom Tom Club, all filtered for modern times.

Fujiya & Miyagi - Paper Airplanes     

With their eclectic sound and interesting use of lyrics as just another element of rhythm in their songs, Fujiya & Miyagi have won over the hearts of a legion of supporters, among whom may be counted DFA, Tiga, Chicken Lips, Damo Suzuki and BBC 6 Music’s Tom Robinson.

Fujiya & Miyagi - Collarbone     

They have also done some noteworthy remixes for bands such as Mercury Rev, Bomb The Bass or Half Cousin. Check out more music by Fujiya & Miyaki on MySpace and download their music on Fujiya & Miyagi

NAJWA – EL ÚLTIMO PRIMATE (Indie/Rock – Spain)

Actress-singer-composer Najwa Nimri started making electronic music in 1996 with Spanish music producer Carlos Jean. As Najwajean they released their first LP, No blood, in 1998. They also worked together on two soundtracks (Asfalto and Guerreros) and released a compilation in 2002. After taking time off, the duo got back together in 2008 and released their first studio album in ten years Till It Breaks.

Najwajean - Drive Me     

Najwa debuted as a solo artist in 2001 with her first LP Carefully. She worked with different producers and created a whole new sound, earning her both critical acclaim and commercial success. After releasing two more albums (Mayday and Walkabout), Najwa is now taking a new step and releasing her first album sung entirely in Spanish.

Najwa - Como un animal     

El Último Primate is also a drastic change musically, since it mostly leaves behind electronic sounds and showcases a radically different sonic landscape.  Acoustic guitars and live drums clearly take the lead on this new record, produced by Peter Walsh and recorded in London. The overall feeling is that of a much darker record, that truly enhances Najwa’s interpretation. More intimate and confident El Último Primate might well be her best album to date.

Check Najwa’s official website for more info and buy her music on 7digital or Najwa


Bark Bark Disco is a band from the island of Malta and the city of Berlin. Its members, Morris, Charlotte and Antonio, created the band in August 2009, just a week before they played their debut concert with Bonnie Prince Billy, in a masonic cemetery in Valletta. Allegedly it was this gig that actually pushed the band to formation.

Bark Bark Disco - Song for the Lovers     

Their track “Song For The Lovers” is a deliciously simplistic pop song with the catchiest of hooks. This electropop sound, that they describe as bedroom pop, permeates their debut album Your Mum Says Hello (released in February 2010). You can download it for free on their website.


Gabriel Rios

Born in San Juan, Puerto Rico, Gabriel Ríos relocated to Belgium with his family at an early age. Very active in the local music scene, Ríos was in various bands before starting his solo career. His first record, Ghostboy (2005), was produced by Jo Bogaert (of Technotronic) and featured a mix of Latin, hip hop, rock and electronica. The main single, “Broad Daylight,” was a sizeable hit in Belgium, as well as in the Netherlands and France.

More info and music on his official site. Buy the song on