Tag Archives: simian mobile disco


East London duo Plant Plants recently shared two tracks off their forthcoming EP, which is set to drop next June 18th on This Is Music (also home to Monarchy, Charli XCX or Theophilus London). The new record features four tracks: “One To Adore”, “Repeaters”, “Stupid Boy” and “Embrace The Real”.

Plant Plants - Embrace The Real     

Endorsed by Jas Shaw (one half of Simian Mobile Disco), who produced their debut EP last year and who is back behind the decks for EP 2, Plant Plants flawlessly combine multi-tracked vocals, subdued programmed beats and lush melodies.

Stream more music by Plant Plants on SoundCloud or follow them on Facebook for more info. Buy their music on Plant Plants


Simian Mobile Disco

Three years after their critically-acclaimed sophomore album Temporary Pleasure, which featured high-profile vocal collaborations from Gruff Rhys, Alexis Taylor of Hot Chip, Beth Ditto and Yeasayer’s Chris Keating, UK-based duo Simian Mobile Disco are back with a new album, Unpatterns, released on May 14th via Wichita Recordings.

Far from recycling old recipes, James Ford and Jas Shaw decided to embark on a radically different dance journey, avoiding celeb guest vocals and concentrating on minimal beats and classic electronica.

This is a well-crafted low-key dance album, that oscillates between dark moody tracks and groovy club-inspired numbers, without quite deciding which way to go. in the end, SMD stay somewhere in the middle but they do so in such an elegant manner that it’s hard not to enjoy the ride.

Bonus tracks: listen to a couple of tracks taken from SMD’s 2009 album Temporary Pleasure and remixed by Allez-Allez and Heartbreak.

Simian Mobile Disco - Audacity Of Huge (Allez-Allez Remix)     
Simian Mobile Disco - Cruel Intentions (Heartbreak's Slow Action Remix)     

For more info and music, check out SMD’s official site or Facebook. Buy the new album as well as all previous releases on Simian Mobile Disco


Simian Mobile Disco

Three years after their sophomore album Temporary Pleasure, legendary British dance duo Simian Mobile Disco are finally sharing a new track! “Seraphim” is the first song taken off their forthcoming album, Unpatterns, and it is now streaming on their SoundCloud.

“Seraphim” is a more restrained and melow than SMD’s previous material, but if you give it a good listen and let it sink in for a minute or two, you will probably end up loving it! The single is out on April 9th and the album will be out on May 15th on Wichita Recordings.

More info and music on SMD’s official site or Facebook. Stream the music on SoundCloud. Buy on Simian Mobile Disco


The Lowbrowsare a creative unit that was formed in 2005 by Chaki (multi instrumentalist and DJ) and Emi (classically trained musician). Their edgy  electro dance sound is always looking towards the future, and gives you a sense of innovation with every listen!

The Lowbrows - Dream in the Desert (Flight Facilities Remix)     

Their first self titled EP was released in March 2007 but is no longer available. They gained attention in February 2008, when a then unreleased track “Melody & Shudder” was remixed by Dexpistols and featured on their compilation Apple.Lesson.4. They would also gain further attention when the Bang Gang Deejays featured ‘Dream In The Desert’ on their compilation; ‘D is For Disco, E is For Dancing’. As a matter of fact, Chaki has performed DJ sets alongside the Bang Gang Deejays, but also Hot Chip, Friendly Fires or Digitalism.

With an amazing reputation for their remix work, they are receiving a rush of offers from both Japanese and international artists (Simian Mobile Disco, Chromeo, 80Kidz). In between remixes and gigs, they released an album, For Whom The Bell Tolls, and more recently a mini album, Danse Macabre.

The mini-album has eight tracks in total, including a reworking of the glorious “Dream In The Desert” (get it on Beatport or iTunes). A new fully fledged album, ripe with fresh material is expected in early 2010… In the meantime, check out their MySpace for updates!

U R MY DISCO // vol.6

U R MY DISCO // vol.6 is here!! When the streets are white with snow and the cold wind blows in your face, you need some quality dance music to warm you up. So stop hiding under your blanket, get out of bed, turn the volume up and enjoy! If it’s freezing outside, get your crew together and put on your dancing shoes cuz this mix is all you need get the party going…

Here’s a teaser for you… Not released yet, a new track by Sia called “You’ve Changed”…

Sia - You've Changed     

Stream the whole mix on 8tracks or download it here:


Tracklist goes as follows:

01 Drownsoda – Holograms
02 Armand Van Helden – I Want Your Soul (Fake Blood Remix)
03 Anoraak – Nightdrive With You (Grum New Wave Remix)
04 Miami Horror – Make You Mine
05 Pilotpriest – Zipper (1994 Radio Edit)
06 Cazals – Somebody, Somewhere (Lifelike Remix)
07 Cut Copy – Hearts on Fire (Aeroplane Pop Remix)
08 Metric – Help I’m Alive (The Twelves Remix)
09 Metronomy – Heartbreaker (Jupiter Remix)
10 Sia – You’ve Changed
11 French Horn Rebellion – Up All Night (John Bourke Remix)
12 Lost Valentinos – Thief (Nile Delta Remix)
13 Hercules & Love Affair – Raise Me Up
14 My Tiger My Timing – I Am The Sound
15 Fever Ray – Seven (The Twelves Remix)
16 Simian Mobile Disco – Cruel Intentions
17 Jupiter – Starlighter
18 Two Door Cinema Club – Cigarettes in the Theatre