ClubSaturday nite


On April 21, legendary British duo Everything But The Girl released Fuse, their first studio album in over 24 years. Written and produced by Ben Watt and Tracey Thorn in 2021, Fuse is a modern take on the lustrous electronic soul the band first pioneered in the mid-90s. Thorn’s richly-textured voice is once again upfront in Watt’s glimmering landscape of sub-bass, sharp beats, half-lit synths, and the result is the sound of a band comfortable with being sonically contemporary, yet agelessly themselves.

The second single taken off Fuse is ‘Caution to the Wind’, which the band described as “a simple song about arrival and seizing the moment”. “With the music we tried to capture the feeling of a perpetual point in time,” Tracey Thorn said in a statement. “I let the words quickly collapse and loop inside the production,” Ben Watt explained. “The drums emerge and repeat, and everything then starts to unfold in cycles of anticipation and release. I guess it’s just classic nightclub tension and euphoria.”

The album is out on Buzzin’ Fly Records through Virgin Music Group, except North America, where it is released on Buzzin’ Fly Records through Verve, and it’s available on limited edition green vinyl, standard black vinyl, standard CD, and CD with bonus BluRay.

Find Everything But The Girl on Facebook, check out their official site and listen to more music on SoundCloud.

Listen on Apple Music

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.