All posts by markus

CHROMATICS – NIGHT DRIVE (ItaloDisco/Electro – US)


Let’s go back in time a little and introduce Chromatics! They have long been amongst our favourites but never made it to these pages but this is just about to change.

Chromatics are part of the Italo Disco revival that has seen the emergence of other bands such as Glass Candy, Heartbreak or Telefon Boys. They use this musical genre and put their own twist on it, infused with sad romanticism melodramatic string arrangements and dirty disco beats. Check out their cover of Kate Bush’s monumental “Running Up That Hill”…

Chromatics - Running Up That Hill     

Based in Portland, the band is the brainchild of Adam Miller, who teamed up with Johnny Jewel (one half of duo Glass Candy) in 2004 to work on a new record and later recruited vocalist Ruth Radelet in 2006. They released the In The City EP on underground label Italians Do It Better in autumn 2007, closely followed by a fully fledged album, Night Drive, also known as IV.

Chromatics - Mask     

When Ruth grabs her mic and her breathy vocals come out sad and melancolic, the tone is set. “Mask” is a song you listen to at night, in the car or at home, when you’ve just returned from a club but the night hasn’t really worked out the way you planned. With your clothes in a bundle on the floor, the vague smell of cigarette and sweat, you lie down, push the volume up and the room stands still for 5 minutes while emotions rush to your mind and tears fall down your cheeks.

Follow Chromatics on MySpace and buy their music on

CARIBOU – SWIM (Indie/Psych/Pop – Canada)

Caribou is Canadian-born Dan Snaith, who formerly recorded under the moniker Manitoba. Coming from a family of mathematicians, Snaith  spent many years torn between music and maths. In 2005, he completed his PhD at the University of London and is now working full time on his music. Known for altering his sound with each subsequent release, he incorporates electronic textures and breakbeat drums and creates a lush musical panorama.

His last album, Andorra (2007, City Slang), won Canada’s Polaris Music Prize, so hopes are high for the follow-up. Caribou’s new LP, Swim, will be out April 20, courtesy of Merge in North America and City Slang in the UK and Europe. The album’s opening track “Odessa” is available for free download on Caribou’s official site.

Caribou - Odessa     

Recorded between Wales and Canada, the album has been described by Snaith as folllows: “I got excited by the idea of making dance music that’s liquid in the way it flows back and forth, the sounds slosh around in pitch, timbre, pan… Dance music that sounds like it’s made out of water, rather than made out of metallic stuff like most dance music does.”

As a bonus, here’s “Lord Leopard”, taken off Caribou’s 2005 release The Milk Of Human Kindness.

Caribou - Lord Leopard     

Find out more on MySpace and download Caribou’s music on Caribou


Tracey Thorn‘s new album Love And Its Opposite will be released on May 17. There will be a single with remixes out in April, but to keep you going until then you can download the album’s opening track, “Oh, The Divorces!” for free HERE. Granted leave of absence from Virgin/EMI, Tracey will see the album released on partner Ben Watt‘s Strange Feeling Records, where she joins labelmates such as The Unbending Trees and Copenhagen’s Figurines.

Tracey Thorn - Oh     

With Love And Its Opposite Tracey Thorn departs from the electrofolk sound that infused her 2007 release Out Of The Woods. The latter was her first strictly solo album since 1982’s indie classic A Distant Shore and it received rave reviews. Ranging from subdued electronica to downright glittering disco, the songs on Out Of The Woods really enhance Thorn’s lyrics and magical voice.

Tracey Thorn - It's All True     

Let’s not forget that Tracey Thorn was also one half of Everything But The Girl with partner Ben Watt. The band left behind them a large collection of hits, one of the most memorable being “Missing”, here remixed by Todd Terry. Oh, the 90s…

Everything But The Girl - Missing (Todd Terry Remix)     

Follow Tracey Thorn’s updates on her official site and MySpace. Buy the album on Tracey Thorn

STREETLAB – NY SOUND (Electro/Club – US)

Streetlab are a production duo out of Brooklyn, NY. In their brief career, they have released numerous remixes (Rolling Stones, Crystal Castles, Hot Chip) that have been floating around the blogosphere and getting a fair amount of media attention.

Just below is their great remix of no less great “Sleepyhead” by Passion Pit.

Passion Pit - Sleepyhead (Streetlab mix)     

Streetlab are releasing their debut album on April 20th and it will come on the heels of their single “NYSound”.

Streetlab - NYSound     

For more info, check out Streetlab’s official site or go to MySpace.

Buy on Streetlab


Boris Dlugosch a German electronic artist, mostly known for funky/deep house tracks, often produced in conjunction with Mousse T and Michi Lange, his partners in the Peppermint Jam Records label. Let’s introduce here Dlugosch’s memorable track “Bangkok”, released towards the end of ’09 and playlisted by BBC Radio 1’s Annie Mac amongst others. The track has now just received the remix treatment!

The version you can hear below has NYC-based DJ/producer RedLight skip the whole intro to go straight to the point  and  highlight the melody, really pumping up the whole track.. That’s one the dancefloor!

Boris Dlugosch - Bangkok (Redlight Remix)     

Boris Dlugosch on MySpace // RedLight on MySpace