THE WHITEST BOY ALIVE – RULES (Indie/Pop – Germany/Norway)

Berlin-based indie pop act The Whitest Boy Alive is one of Erlend Øye‘s many side projects. Besides being one half of indie folk duo Kings of Convenience, Øye has also collaborated with many artists and released a solo album a few years ago (listen to it HERE). In The Whitest Boy Alive, Erlend Øye is on guitars and vocals, joined by Marcin Öz on bass, Sebastian Maschat on drums and Daniel Nentwig on keys.

They started as an electronic dance music project in 2003 in Berlin, but have since slowly developed into a band with no programmed elements. Their debut album, Dreams, was released on June 21, 2006 in Germany. The following year, in July 2007, Modular Records signed them to their UK imprint and re-released the album in the UK with the single “Burning” in November 2007.

The Whitest Boy Alive - Burning     

The Band released their second album, Rules, in March 2009 to mixed reviews. Even though the album moves smoothly from one track to the next, it sometimes feels a little too formulaic, a little too rational. But the catchiest songs on Rules (“1517” is one of them), do make up for the bits that fall flat…

The Whitest Boy Alive - 1517     

Show The Whithest Boy Alive some love on MySpace and buy the new album on The

0 thoughts on “THE WHITEST BOY ALIVE – RULES (Indie/Pop – Germany/Norway)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.